Tags

,

I’ve been an avid viewer of Finding Your Roots with Henry Louis Gates, Jr since it first aired in 2012.  In addition, I’ve always been curious about those that came before me.  What did my ancestors look like?  What were their lives like?  What were their likes and dislikes?  The questions go on and on.  So, I’ve decided to attempt to find my own roots.  Let’s see how far I can get without the help of Henry Louis Gates, Jr. or other professionals.  But, where to begin?

Hmm…  Well, I know there’s me.

And, I know there’s my mother and father.

I know my maternal grandmother very well, and I was fortunate enough to have my paternal grandfather, Mr. David Terrell, Sr. for 33 years of my life.

On my paternal side, my grandmother, Mrs. Leola Goode Askew was a part of my life for 29 years.  Unfortunately, I never had the pleasure of knowing my paternal grandfather.  He died just shy of three months before I was born.

I want to know more about my grandfather.  Therefore, my journey to “find my roots” begins with Mr. Lish Askew.

