Tags

, , , ,

I now have in my possession the death certificate of my grandfather, Lish Askew.
With this I have been able to confirm my research and also learn a few new things as well.

Based upon the information his death certificate provides, he was born July 28, 1907 in Clayton County, GA to William Askew and Lizzie Askew (née Davidson), and died at 7 AM on April 29, 1971 at Grady Memorial Hospital in Atlanta, GA from Pulmonary Edema.  The interval between the onset and his death was only one hour.  His remains were embalmed by Ernest E. Lewis, and tended to by Ivey Bros., Inc. at 429 Larkin St. SW.  He was buried at South View Cemetery in Atlanta (Fulton), GA on May 1, 1971.  It was my aunt, Vivian Askew Garrison, that served as informant on his death certificate.

Since Lish’s death, the funeral home has undergone a few name changes.  In August of 1994, the name was changed to Ivey-Williams Funeral Home, and then in 1995 it became what it is known as today, Carl M. Williams Funeral Directors, Inc.

At the time of his death, he worked as a Laborer for Atlanta Brick & Tile Co.  Though I was unable to find an image of this company online, I did find a document listing them as permit holders for mining operations on georgiaarchives.org.

